Skip to content

to dye for.

April 11, 2012

First of all, I’m so sorry it’s taken me so long to get this post up! With all of the festivities that Easter weekend brings along & with job interviews, etc…I’ve been a little busy! But, I hope you all had a wonderful Easter weekend celebrating with friends & family!

Today’s post will feature images of pieces I have designed & created. For my Senior Exit Show, I designed a collection of dresses in three stages of evening wear for women: dinner, cocktail, & evening gown. I hand-dyed & hand-wove (on a loom) fabrics for the pieces. For the dresses, I created (most of) the fabrics and the designs & hired a seamstress to put them all together. I also created clutch purses to go with each dress. For the clutches, I hand dyed the fabrics, created the forms, & hand embellished each piece.

This project was so much fun to work on, so I wanted to share it with you!

<dinner dress>

<the Haley>

silk, mixed-fiber hand-woven fabric

<clutch>

<the Ginna>

hand-dyed silk,

<cocktail dress>

<the Miranda>

hand-dyed silk

(for some reason, this dress hangs funny on the dress form — the hem is straight across on a body)

<clutch>

<the Kelly>

hand-dyed silk, beads, vintage buttons & trinkets

<evening gown>

<the Amber>

hand-dyed silk, viscose rayon, silk chiffon

<clutch>

<the Maureen>

hand-dyed silk, chiffon flowers, vintage broaches

<all photos taken by my sister — Evann Rowland>

Creating these few pieces took up months of my life, believe it or not! From deciding on fabrics, to choosing dye colors, to finding the perfect vintage pieces to embellish with, it was a time consuming process! I’m really proud of the way they turned out & I’m excited about a few new projects I’m working on right now! I’ll keep you all posted on them!

By the way, if you were wondering about the names of each piece, I named them after my best friends & the pieces that I felt most represented their personalities!

Happy Hump Day!

xoxo,

jordan

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Maureen Webb permalink
    April 11, 2012 10:30 pm

    Ok… I’m obsessed!! Of course I loved all of the other pictures that I have seen, but I love that they are named after each of our amazing best friends!! You are so talented!!! Love you!!

  2. Katherine Hall permalink
    April 19, 2012 12:09 pm

    Beautiful Jordan! I am so proud of you!! You are really talented! Love, Katherine

Leave a Reply

