Skip to content

the academy awards.

February 26, 2013

Oh awards season…it’s like the holidays for those who love fashion.

& let me tell you…the Oscars brings out the best of the best dressed.

Even the worst dressed aren’t that bad.

Not to mention, so much trend forecasting is in play.

Did you notice any 2013 trends on the red carpet?

Black, white, metallics? The peplum hanging around? Sheer? Cutouts?

Here’s my recap of the night:

85th Annual Academy Awards - Arrivals

Back in black…let’s start with the “unstoppable Adele,” as J.Law so kindly introduced her.

I seriously think she has never looked so beautiful as she did last night in this Jenny Packham dress, that weighed 15 kilos [33 lbs], might I add.

In her red carpet interview, she said, “I feel like Beyoncé.”

Jenny Packham has become quite the go to designer for some of my favorite Brits.

The makeup, the half-updo, the dress…she looked phenom.

adele 2

She also stunned in Burberry for her performance.

Her hair all down & a little messy? Absolute perfection, if you ask me.

When I say I’m obsessed with her, it just doesn’t do justice to my love for her.

She does no wrong.

jennifer garner

Few people opted for color this year at the Oscars.

But, those who did [for the most part] knocked it out of the park.

Jennifer Garner is radiant in this plum, custom Gucci gown.

She was beaming all night; so proud of Ben.

I also loved her choice in [2.5 million dollars worth of] Neil Lane jewels.

Especially the 200 carat necklace. Gorge.

jessica chastain

Jessica Chastain was one of the first to arrive on the red carpet…with her date, her proud grandmother.

In Armani Privé, she was a vision of old Hollywood glamour.

Sophisticated, elegant, very “happy birthday Mr. President…”

The vintage Harry Winston jewels [from the 1960’s], soft curls, & red lipstick were the perfect finishing touches to this look.

charlize theron

Holy Charlize Theron.

She could wear my grandfather’s clothes & still look drop dead gorgeous.

Very few can pull this hair cut off [insert Halle Berry], but she does without a hitch.

This white Dior peplum number & Harry Winston jewels don’t hurt either.

She looks like a goddess.

reese witherspoon

New mom, not for the first time, Reese Witherspoon looked great in cobalt Louis Vuitton.

Reese’s thick, side-swept curls really pulled this look together.

I’m not too crazy about the bow on the black band up top. It needs something up there, I just feel like something other than a flat bow could do the trick.

amy adams

Amy Adams was over the top in Oscar de la Renta & I loved it.

She was magical in this full, barely blue, tulle dress.

amy adams 2

Amy also stunned in this very Gatsby-like Oscar de la Renta dress at the Vanity Fair after party.

I love it. I have a feeling the flapper is making a comeback.

naomi watts

Naomi Watts was so glamorous in this silver sequined Armani Privé gown.

The unique neck line on this dress is to die for.

nicole kidman

Next up, Naomi’s best friend, Nicole Kidman was a stunner as well in a fully sequined L’Wren Scott gown.

It’s been said that they intentionally coordinate on red carpets — that’s sweet.

N.Kid’s soft waves & loosely pulled back hair were a nice touch.

sandra bullock

Sandra Bullock rarely let’s down. She’s so beautiful.

This lace, sheer, & beaded Elie Saab gown was a flattering choice for her.

I wish she had done something a little different with her hair though…maybe all up?

I wasn’t crazy about her hair accessory.

kerry washington

Thanks to Scandal, I have a new found obsession with Kerry Washington.

I think she’s incredible.

So it comes as no surprise that I love her coral Miu Miu gown.

The embellished top & silk train are so elegant.

She topped the look off with Fred Leighton jewels & nude “Olivia Pope” nails.

stacy keibler

Stacy Keibler was absolute perfection in fully beaded Naeem Khan.

Showing the perfect amount of skin, she was gorgeous on George Clooney’s arm.

Now for my pick of best dressed of the night:

jennifer lawrence

Jennifer Lawrence…le duh. She is totally having a moment.

I’m 100% confident that if she & I ever met, we’d become best friends instantly.

She is too cool for words.

Not to mention, she is a dream in this to die for Dior Haute Couture gown.

Literally a vision in white.

Not to mention, she was dripping in Chopard diamonds. The necklace down her back…yes or yes?

jennifer lawrence 2

I’m telling you…this girl has found her style & is totally owning it.

She hit the Vanity Fair after party in a slinky Calvin Klein gown.

Pick your jaws off the ground, boys.

beards

Annnd…if any of you were wondering, I am so okay with all of these beards that were happening at the Oscars.

Ben, Hugh, George…dead sexy.

bradley cooper

Don’t forget ole Bradley Cooper, too!

Bearded & suited up in Tom Ford with his mom as his date.

Seriously, how cute is that?

quvenzhane wallis

Speaking of cute, who could forget about this starlet, Quvenzhané Wallis?

Hitting the red carpet in Armani & a custom puppy purse named after her own dog, Sammy.

She’s only the youngest actress ever to be nominated for Best Actress in a Leading Role by the Academy — flex those arms, girl.

9 years old, people.

After all of its hype at the Oscars, I decided I’ve got to see Beasts of the Southern Wild.

Along with Lincoln & Life of Pi.

I was so happy Argo & Silver Linings Playbook took home awards!

Two of the best movies I’ve seen in a while…

photo(20)

Jennifer Hudson & Adele proved their vocal supremacy on stage once again.

Babs showed us that she’s still got it.

Shirley Bassey didn’t do much for me, but I’m sure most thought she was great.

Kristin Chenoweth…I literally would have preferred earplugs during her “losers” song…but the gold dress — I love.

I could keep going on about the night, and maybe I will tomorrow!

But, for now…happy Tuesday!

xo,

jordan

<all images via huffingtonpost, people, redcarpetfashionawards, mtv, eonline, sfgate>

Leave a Reply

